| Beware of bootleg software !!! |
| Monday, 06 August 2007 | |
|
Adobe Photoshop CS3 Extended for only $89.95 US. Now it shouldn't bother me that is over $900 below retail price, right?? Well it did!
By: Mike Parker
It was sent to me via a non-existant e-mail address. But I have a "dump" account for these stray e-mails set up on my domain. I get a bunch of these everyday. Most are just virus spam that is picked up by my filters and anti-virus software. But this caught my eye because it was just way to low of a price for this software. As with most of these type of messages it had a fake return address. I did manage to find the owner of this fake address and called him to let him know his domain name was hijacked by spammers. I also sent him a copy of the message and the header in case his domain registrar needed it to try and track where it came from. The e-mail asked you to got to a site called www.oem-ten.com. A Who-Is search tells me it seems to be a bootleg software site in Asia somewhere. It lists all kinds of software they are selling for 'pennys on the dollar'. (if you get the software at all). Now I know most of you are smart enough not to fall for this scam, but sometimes late at night when your tired & not paying attention, one might say, "I'm going to give it a try. . . . . . . "
If you now anything more about this oem-ten site, please post in the forum.
|